Yep, still snow. It snowed all day Monday, a little bit on Tuesday, a little bit yesterday and nothing today. It’s supposed to rain this weekend so either we’ll have a lot of ice or a lot of water everywhere. Peter’s been off work all week which is nice in every way except the financial one. We’ve done our best to get our money’s worth out of our Netflix account the past couple of days. Some of you may know that I kind of love terrible movies. They hold a special place in my heart and if you watch them with the right person/people, it’s a fantastic experience. Peter and I recently raced our way through the Fast and the Furious series, including Fast Five in IMAX (totally worth it). #5 is the best one by the way; #3 is the worst. Far worse than any of those though is “Fast Track: No Limits”. It’s kind of the German version. Terrible acting, nonsensical plot and it’s far too long. A better bad movie was “Escape from L.A.” 2013’s going to be rough guys. Stay out of California.

In other weather-related news, I had a quintessential Canadian experience the other morning when we went out to sled: my hair froze. I’ve heard about this and perhaps I should have considered it when taking a shower right before going out but I’ve never experienced cold enough weather. I guess I can check that off my bucket list. The next day we had an even colder walk to the grocery store to stock up on a few essentials. It was snowing lately and the winds were blowing more snow into our faces. It was unpleasant. Today was much milder and we had a lovely walk downtown, where almost every business was closed. Peter and I had a cup of coffee and a long talk about a bit of everything. I love going on little dates with him. Despite the fact that we see each other every day and spend a ton of time together, he’s my very favourite person to have a conversation with.

I just finished reading “Imperfect Birds” by Anne Lamott. Definitely a writer I’ll look for again. I wasn’t totally satisfied with the ending though. I thought Elizabeth’s spiritual journey was a really interesting part of the novel but didn’t go very far. She had this belief in something that was “not me” but stopped right there. Perhaps that’s realistic but not very satisfying for me as a reader. I wasn’t sure that any of the characters had really changed by the end. I feel like that’s important in a novel, we invest in these characters and we want to see something different in them, whether good or bad. And I was invested in the characters; Lamott’s descriptions were dead on and they were real people, each with distinct and believable motivations.

I read this quote from “Les Miserables” this morning in connection to grace:

“He (Jean Valjean) was indistinctly conscious that the pardon of this priest was the greatest assault and the most formidable attack which had moved him yet.”

Isn’t that great? When we truly came face-to-face with grace, we have to change our lives. And that can be terrifying because a lot of the time, our life seems okay. The thing is though, when we experience the grace of Jesus and recognize it as such, we want to change our lives. When I was sixteen, I was confronted with God in such a real way that I knew I had to live my life differently. I wanted to because part of experiencing God’s grace is realizing that you matter to Him. That’s amazing.

Also, I love “indistinctly conscious”. Victor Hugo is brilliant and if you haven’t read “Les Miserables”, read it. Go. Now. You won’t regret it. Watching the musical is not enough.

There is way more snow than this now. I swear.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

