Looking for the beautiful…

I’m no photographer. I just take pictures. And even that’s a relatively new endeavour. I have a decent but not at all fancy camera and lately I’ve started using it a lot more. I’m learning a few things.

You can't take direct pictures of the sun.

When I first moved to the island, more than 7 years ago, I would wander through Chinatown when I felt homesick. I would breathe in the smells, look at cheap knick knacks in shops, have some chrysanthemum tea or a cha siu bao and I would feel better. There’s no Chinatown around here so I can’t do that. So I go for walks and I take pictures.

I discovered that this has the added bonus of slowing me down but most of all, it forces me to look for the beautiful in the things around me. I haven’t been naturally inclined to find my new setting beautiful. Don’t get me wrong, it is a lovely place and there are many beautiful locations here, I just haven’t seen them as easily because it’s not the type of nature and outdoors I’m used to. Taking photos has helped me realize what’s lovely around me.

Lately I’ve been feeling homesick and missing friends and generally just having some mid-winter blahs. But the sun was out and my camera is home so I went out and got some mud on my boots.

I love 'em but they're really past their prime. Still good for days like this though.

I followed a path I like that goes along the river.

And when the path ended, I kept going.

I scoped some good spots for blackberry-picking come summer.

It was good for my soul.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

 

Leave a Reply

