God is Good. All the Time.

Yesterday I shared what I’d read in the Bible that morning (Matthew 6:25-34). How God seemed to be telling me to relax, to let go of anxiety and trust in Him. Last night our car broke down. After we’d pushed it home, I remembered what God had reminded me of just that morning. It’s a pretty cool moment when you realize that your heavenly Father gave you some prep for a hard time.

We don’t yet know how much damage there is on the car or what it will cost to fix it – could be a lot, could be less. But what I am thankful for is that it broke down just a block from our house so that we could get it home easily. It happened on a quiet street so when we suddenly stopped moving, we weren’t endangering others or in danger ourselves. Frankly, it could have been a much more dangerous situation and it wasn’t and I’m really grateful for that. It’s hard to be thankful for something that will cost us money that we’d rather spend in other ways. But I worship and believe in a Heavenly Father who loves me dearly and knows what I need. I worship a God who tells me not to worry about tomorrow, who promises me He will take care of me. Even if it doesn’t look the way I think it should.

So today I hold on to the lesson that God is teaching me.

“And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?”

Leave a Reply

