Two Years

Two years ago today I woke up early in the morning and rushed to the window to check the weather. It was my wedding day and all week there had been warnings of rain. Our reception was outdoors; we had no back-up plan. The sky was clear and calm and a beautiful blue.

It’s hard to believe it’s been two years already since that day. At my brother-in-law’s wedding, just a few months before ours, lots of people had advice for Peter and I. A few couples – couples who had been married for years – told us that it only gets better. Admittedly, I found that hard to believe. How could it get better when it was so good already?

But it does.

Or maybe it’s that it gets deeper. In two years, Peter and I know each other more than we ever did before. We know each other’s quirks and insecurities and strengths. When we say, “I love you” now, it includes all of those things. All of the goodness and weirdness and difficulty of the past two years. It’s amazing to be loved by someone who knows me this well. It has given me a glimpse of how God loves me. And loving my husband has taught me a lot too. I am hugely blessed.

Looking through wedding photos this morning I noticed for the first time that Peter is giving a thumbs up in this picture, taken shortly after I came up the aisle.

One thought on “Two Years

  1. Isn’t it wonderful how it only gets better? And you’ve described it in such a beautiful way – “We know each other’s quirks and insecurities and strengths. When we say, “I love you” now, it includes all of those things.” So lovely.
    Happy Anniversary!!

Leave a Reply

