Thrifting on the Sunshine Coast

This is a bit of an overdue post but I guess now I can say I was waiting for summer to end in order to give you a more complete overview (or something like that!). I’ve done some good thrifting since moving to the Sunshine Coast in July and I’d like to share some of my finds with you.

It’s been a good summer for books (as if I really need more books!) I love shopping secondhand bookstores but my heart really belongs to Russell Books in Victoria. My years there more than doubled my shelves.

Books I’ve bought 2nd hand this summer:

The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, Michael Chabon
(Bought from Community Treasures Thrift Store in Gibsons)

The Lacuna, Barbara Kingsolver

Every Man Dies Alone, Hans Fallada

Fugitive Pieces, Anne Michaels

The Selected Stories of Mavis Gallant (I’m working my way through this tome (not pictured) currently and it’s so good. I’m kicking myself for not reading Gallant’s stories about 6 years ago.)

All 4 of those titles were purchased at the Sechelt Friends of the Library Sale.

Requiem for  Nun, William Faulkner

The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan

Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey

Consolation, Michael Redhill

The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Those 6 titles (as well as a couple purchased as gifts) were found at the Roberts Creek Library Sale. (And in case telling you I bought books as gifts makes me sound really generous, they were $1 each. Also, I know library sales aren’t really thrift stores but they are awesome and you should support your local library.)

A Gate at the Stairs, Lorrie Moore (book review coming soon)

That last one was bought from St. Mary’s Thrift Store in downtown Sechelt.

I’ve bought a few things for my house:

Ramekins (from St. Mary’s) and an apple peeler (from Community Treasures). My Oma and my mom had apple peelers like this and I loved using them when I was a kid. Currently most of my kitchen stuff is in storage but when we settle back into our own place eventually, I look forward to using these.

This bowl that looks like a flower (from St. Mary’s). I did not buy the apples used. There were also about a dozen tiny bowls that looked like this one and I wanted to buy them but I just couldn’t justify it or come up with a reason I might need a dozen tiny bowls. I kind of have a thing for pretty bowls though.

I bought a few fall accessories:

The scarves are from The Wildlife Thrift Store in Vancouver. The gloves are from St. Mary’s. I neither seek out nor completely avoid leather and I wasn’t looking for leather gloves. But I picked these up and tried them on in the store and they fit like, well, a glove. Which doesn’t happen to me much because I have kind of small hands. Also, they cost $1.50.

On the clothing front I did pretty well too. I don’t have pictures because a) I’m not a good enough photographer (especially with my busted camera) to take pictures of clothes by themselves that are nice to look at and b) I feel weird taking pictures of myself in said clothes and posting them here. This is the closest you’ll get:

That’s Peter and I in Vancouver a couple of weeks ago (eating poutine) and I’m wearing a dress I bought at Salvation Army. My jacket was not thrifted. But Peter’s shirt was.

Oh, and in case you were wondering what we did with all those blackberries we’ve been picking…

We made blackberry tarts!

P.S. I linked to each of the thrift stores I mentioned partly so if you’re ever in this neck of woods you’ll know where to shop and partly because I believe in supporting these kinds of charities. I haven’t researched extensively on the various charities they support so I can’t promise I endorse everything they represent. What I do know about them is good stuff though. And if I can buy clothes and the money I spend goes to helping someone else, that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

