It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like….

Christmas around here!

I’m pretty strict about my “The Christmas Season begins December 1st” policy. Since I have no power to enforce such a policy around me, it really only makes a difference in my own home.

I spent part of yesterday writing Christmas cards, sipping hot chocolate, and listening to the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack. Yep, it was pretty Christmasy.

We won’t be on the coast for Christmas this year and most of our stuff is still in storage but I still pulled out a few Christmas things for our little space. My mother-in-law loaned us a little Christmas tree and we decorated today.

DSCN3825

I love real Christmas trees but I know we’ll likely have them on both sides of the family this year so our personal little tabletop tree is perfect. (Even though some of our decorations might be a little too big for it!)

Peter asked me to show off this little ornament that he handmade:

DSCN3833

Why yes, that is made from a cork, two pushpins and some festively coloured rubber bands! Believe it or not, this is the second year that this ornament has decorated our tree.

To balance that out, let me show you an ornament that my niece and nephew made for us:

DSCN3835

I strung up some of our other Christmas decorations as well.

DSCN3818

Those Christmas baubles are all ones I’ve picked up from thrift stores over the past few years. Other than those, I don’t think I’ve ever bought a single Christmas tree ornament.

Our stockings:

DSCN3817

These were handmade in Victoria. I bought them for Peter and I our first Christmas after we were married.

And our Eric Carle advent calendar makes an appearance for another year. I love advent calendars!

DSCN3821

I also like to put a few ornaments around in less expected places.

Like my spice rack:DSCN3824

Or my books-t0-read pile:

DSCN3822

And, of course, Vern gets his decorations too!

DSCN3829

Happy Christmas decorating to you! (Or Happy Hannukah/Kwanzaa/Festivus/Friday afternoon decorating if you prefer!)

One thought on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like….

Leave a Reply

