A Year in Blogging

To celebrate the one year anniversary of this here blog, I scrolled through some of the search terms that have brought people here. Some made me laugh and/or wonder. Here are a few of my favourites, along with some random pictures from the past couple of weeks.

Two things I love.

Two things I love.

peculiar children

First Google result: Amazon.ca

My post: Book review of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

If they were looking for information about Riggs’ book, then this isn’t such a weird search. Or these were some parents with strange kids…

Feasting on delicious crab that was out in the ocean only hours before.

Feasting on delicious crab that was out in the ocean only hours before.

guy driving boat

First Google result: “What do you call the person who drivers a boat?”

My post: Possibly this Bachelor recap or this one. Or, I thought, perhaps this one about fishing.

This isn’t a weird search but it seemed bizarre that it came up a few times. What were these people really looking for?

Using the new lens to creep on a friend checking crab traps.

Using the new lens to creep on a friend checking crab traps.

fake love

First Google result: Love quotes

My post: This Valentine’s Day post.

Again, only weird because multiple people googled this and arrived here. I picture someone fresh from a break-up. Hope Google helped your heartbreak.

New signs on the trail at Chapman Creek.

New signs on the trail at Chapman Creek.

movember ending

First Google result: Official site of Movember?

My post: Not about movember at all.

I don’t know if this was a typo or a desperate desire to not see any more hipsters with mustaches. Either way, I sympathize.

Mushrooms on a stump along the trail at Chapman Creek.

Mushrooms on a stump along the trail at Chapman Creek.

engagement gum boots

First Google Result: Fans of Gumboots!

My post: I’m actually not sure. I’ve written about engagement rings and I’ve written about my gumboots (lots) but never have I thought to combine the two. If you are the person who searched for engagement gum boots, let me know! And kudos to you on your romantic creativity!

Chapman Creek.

Chapman Creek.

the absolutely true diary of a part-time indian sucks

First Google result: Some quotes from the book.

My post: My review of Sherman Alexie’s novel.

Sorry you had to write a book report on this book, kid! Hopefully you’ll grow up to have better taste in literature.

Sunset outside our front door.

Sunset outside our front door.

chris bachelorette so immature

First Google result: my blog!

Of all of the people who think Chris from the Bachelorette is immature, I’m the top!

Homemade wonton soup!

Homemade wonton soup!

poor cowboy the bachelor

First Google result: Wikipedia on Joe Millionaire

My post: Probably this Bachelor recap.

I’m not really sure what this person was looking for. Was there a poor cowboy who was also the Bachelor? I didn’t watch the early seasons…someone please enlighten me!

Sargent Bay Park

Sargent Bay Park

it begins with canada day

First Google result: hints for a crossword puzzle

My post: The Canada Day Parade in Sechelt.

Doesn’t this sound ominous? Like something terrible is about to happen. Or July is starting.

Sargent Bay

Sargent Bay

“some book”

First Google result: Book recommendations on Yahoo! Answers.

My post: I’ve written a lot about books…it’s kind of a thing I like.

I am so curious as to what book this person was looking for. Please tell me!

A recent thrift store find.

A recent thrift store find.

slug keats island

First Google result: Keats Island official site? Maybe?

I feel compelled to point out that if you image search this query, two of my photos come up on the first page. Boo-yah!

My post: Camping on Keats Island. There were slugs.

Leave a Reply

