International Women’s Day – A Book List

March 8th is International Women’s Day. I am very aware that I live in one of the best times and places to be a woman. No, it’s not perfect and there is much work left to be done, but I’m also very, very fortunate.

In honour of this day, I thought I would share with you the women who grace my bookshelves. I own a fair number of books but I only hold on to the ones I really love. The ones I want to go back and re-read over and over again. These are the female authors whose books I’ve kept. I left out non-fiction and children’s books and I’ve only listed one title from each woman (my personal favourite), though for  some of them I may own a few. And, since it is International Women’s Day, I’ve listed them below by country.

(And, since there have been a lot of herons in front of our place lately, here is a picture of them)

IMG_0393

Canada

Lorna Crozier – Everything Arrives at the Light

Esi Edugyan – Half Blood Blues

Carla Funk – The Sewing Room

Mavis Gallant – Selected Stories

Dorothy Livesay – The Self-Completing Tree

Anne Michaels – Fugitive Pieces

Alice Munro – Selected Stories

Deborah Willis – Vanishing

England

Charlotte Bronte – Jane Eyre (read my review here)

Romania

Herta Muller – The Appointment

United States of America

Barbara Kingsolver – The Poisonwood Bible

Lorrie Moore – Birds of America

Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar

Betty Smith – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (read my review here)

Those are the fine women in my home right now. Who’s in yours? Who should I invite into mine?

IMG_0398

5 thoughts on “International Women’s Day – A Book List

Leave a Reply

