30 Day Dress Challenge

I have a confession to make.

I own more dresses than any other article of clothing. Including socks. That may have something to do with the fact that I hate wearing socks but it also might mean I have a small dress problem.

Some women have a lot of jeans. Some women have a lot of shoes. I have 32 dresses hanging in my closet. 3 or 4 of those are formal dresses and at least one began life in my closet as a bridesmaid’s dress but the majority of them are summery-type sundresses. I love ’em. I love how easy it is to throw on a dress and immediately feel put together. People think I am put together when all I did is choose a single article of clothing. I love that sundresses can mix and match with boots, sandals, tights, sweaters, or even gumboots (a fashion must-have on the Coast!).

That said, in an effort to ensure that I’m actually wearing the clothes I own, I’ve decided to challenge myself. I call it “The 30 Day Dress Challenge”. June is (usually) a dress-appropriate month, weather-wise. June has 30 months. I have about 30 dresses in my closet that I could be wearing. The challenge is to see if I can wear each of my dresses at least once over the next month. Leaving out the fancy occasion dresses (unless I end up having a fancy occasion in June – you can invite me to one if you like!) I shouldn’t have to double up more than a couple times.

At the end of the month I hope to take a good look at my closet and have a better idea of what I really wear and what I’m simply holding on to because I liked it at one point.

And, of course, I’ll document it all here. Aren’t you lucky!

Let’s begin. Saturday, 1 June:

IMG_0588

Dress: Zachary’s Smile, purchased in Vancouver at a store whose name I can’t recall.

Belt: H&M

Leggings: a gift

Earrings: thrifted, purchased at a Goodwill in Washington

Cardigan: Moon, purchased at The Bay

And then, because even though it’s June it’s a cloudy day, I put a cardigan on to go to work.

IMG_0594

6 thoughts on “30 Day Dress Challenge

  1. Great idea! I’m looking forward to this series of blog posts. I’ve considered doing some kind of 30×30 clothing challenge (a la Kendi Everyday), this might be just the extra inspiration I need!

    • Thanks! I find the 30×30 challenges really fun to read about/look at but I’m too intimidated to try it! I feel like I’d be frustrated about two weeks in. Though I guess it’s not unlike travelling for 30 days!

Leave a Reply

