Thankful

After taking my camera everywhere for a month, packing it with me on trains, subways, mountain trails, and through museums, I guess I needed a break. September 2013 will remain without much photographic evidence in our household. That’s okay. Sometimes it’s nice to just look at things and remember them that way.

This weekend though, I picked the camera up and started snapping again. I love the way it changes my perspective on the world. A crisp and sunny long weekend was the perfect time to get outside and take pictures. And, obviously, the right time to remember how much I have to be thankful for.

Here are a few from life recently:

Fall has arrived in our part of the world. I love autumn on the West Coast. The colours everywhere are amazing.

IMG_0824

I discovered that the iOS update now allows me to take panorama shots with my camera phone. I never knew before that I needed a panorama picture of my living room! This was the view from my in-laws house on Sunday afternoon.

IMG_0830

Table set for Thanksgiving dinner.

IMG_0832

Monday afternoon explorations in our neighbourhood.

IMG_3489

It's mushroom season on the Coast. I'm too afraid of poisonous mushrooms to pick any but we've been given some chantrelles by friends.

It’s mushroom season on the Coast. I’m too afraid of poisonous mushrooms to pick any but we’ve been given some chantrelles by friends.

IMG_3493

My Scottish heart loves the thistle.

IMG_3471

Loggers’ cabin on the hill.

 

Wildlife spotted.

Wildlife spotted.

Wildlife not spotted. Elk prints.

Wildlife not spotted. Elk prints.

Not pictured: the unexploded dynamite that I came across. I poked at it oh-so-gently with my foot and then walked away.

And tonight, more beauty.

IMG_0834

Leave a Reply

