Autumn Weekend in the City

Exciting weekend around here! We had big plans in the big city. Or, as the locals call it, “the big smoke”.

Ferry-bound Friday, on the highway, it became clear that we were not likely to make the boat we were aiming for. Rather than stress over it, Peter and I decided to have some adventure time in Gibsons.

Of course, that meant doughnuts.

IMG_0848

That grand Canadian tradition – Tim Hortons. The only location on the Coast is an hour from our house so we made the most of it.

IMG_0850

Browsing through an antique shop, this sign made me laugh. Of course Superman can’t be bought – he’s very morally upstanding.

IMG_0851

Mr. Gibson is ready for Halloween.

IMG_0852

Watching our ferry come in.

A little wandering and a little shopping in Vancouver and then we headed to the main event.

IMG_3550

Football.

What? You don’t believe that I’m a huge football fan?

IMG_0857

See? I really was there. Cheering for the BC Lions, of course.

IMG_3563

Good ol’ Crazy P.

Truthfully, I have only the vaguest idea of how football works. There’s throwing and running and, sometimes, kicking.

IMG_3556

And also this baby dressed as a football.

But this is the third Lions game I’ve attended (I married a CFL fan) and while I have no interest in watching a game on TV, they’re pretty fun in person.

(Also, I would like to mention that the Lions always win when I’m there. Moreover, when I went to my previous games in 2000 and 2011, they went on to win the Grey Cup. So their odds are looking pretty good this year.)

IMG_3581

The Lions started out a little rough but were able to tie the game before halftime and went on to victory.

IMG_3586

We went on to beer and chips with the in-laws.

The rest of the weekend was catching up with some of my favourite little people.

IMG_3620

IMG_3613

Their parents are pretty cool too.

IMG_3656

Autumn in Vancouver can be pretty spectacular.

IMG_3611

IMG_3674

IMG_3681

And then a sunshiney wait at Horseshoe Bay and the ferry home.

IMG_3689

IMG_3688

Leave a Reply

