Now I am 28

I turned 28 this week. This is what I look like now that I’m 28 whopping years old.

IMG_0875

That’s me before work on the morning of my birthday. I look older and wiser, right?

28 is nice. I think we’ll get along.

There are a myriad of ways that my life is different at 28 than I might have expected ten years ago. Or even five years ago. Heck, it was not that long ago that I never imagined I would end up living ocean-side in an unincorporated town that is only accessible by boat. But here I am and my life is good. I could dwell on the things I thought I would have accomplished by the time I reached this age but what would the point be?

The older I get the more I realise that my life is now. I can make all the plans I want – and planning isn’t bad – but life is bigger than plans and plans don’t always work out. My life is happening right now, not what I plan and hope might happen in a year or five years.

I look back over my 28 years and I can see how many times and in how many places God has been good to me. That doesn’t mean only good things have happened to me. It doesn’t mean only good things will happen to me in the future. But God is good and He will continue to be good.

I read this verse a couple days before my birthday and I’m holding it close as I begin this next year of my life.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and He will make straight your path.

Proverbs 3:5-6

IMG_0886

Leave a Reply

